CNN and BBC warn of ACID rain in Nigeria…..

……NOT!!!!!

Instead, the scare mongering has been a result of an email (as seen below) circulating cyberspace.

Acid rain?

Acid Rain e-mail circulating cyberspace...
Acid rain explained....

The honest truth is that I did not circulate this e-mail, actually, to tell you the truth, I specially requested for e-mail be forwarded to me. Thanks Bunmi Akinsanmi for doing just that.

So, neither CNN nor BBC has warned the world of an impending deluge of acid rain o, not that they would not have been delighted that a certain country in Africa called Nigeria is finally having its own share of natural disaster.

What we have however has been an unbearable humidity that is totally stifling to say the least. For those who have experienced Harmattan weather, this is it without the slight chill. Instead, the very dense hazy weather comes with it, uncomfortable heat, and I mean severe heat that has got even the locals talking.

If it was only someone like my humble self complaining, I would have been looked at as a foreign Nigerian, and don’t assume there are no such people with this status – loads around.

Hazy sun in Lagos, Nigeria

This weather, I can only speak about my experience here in Lagos, has not been kind at all. The haze has been so dense that, on Sunday afternoon, when I spotted the sun, it appeared as a full moon. Can you just believe that?

I now take showers at every given opportunity once I get back indoors, shutting windows, believing any opening would draw in more heat. The Air Conditioner (AC) which at one point had been condemned due to irregular Power supply as I can’t run an AC on my generator, (I did initially; it ended up costing me more. In short, I remember the boilers were once powered on the poor generator as well, but no more. Boilers? What’s so called?)
So the AC has now come back to live, I was quite surprised it still works.

Do you know at one point I was beginning to think I was the only who had noticed the climatic change, not until the SilverBird Television interviewed a Meteorologist from the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET) yesterday. He declared that the dramatic hazy weather was due to nature at work. The news clip was too brief for me to make head or tail of what he meant.

Hazy weather, courtesy 234Next.com

234Next.com today, with its headline “Sahara dust storm linked to hazy weather” has however shed more light on this topic that has generated a lot of interest.

Modupe Ogunwale, director of Research and Training at the Nigerian Meteorological Agency has explained that the hazy weather currently observed since Saturday around Lagos and some South-western states in the last few days has been as a result of an unusual dust storm from the Sahara desert.

The Meteorologist went on to calm Lagosians in particular and also advised against panic. Though he said it was severe enough to lead to the cancellation of several flights, it could also lead to a rise in upper respiratory disease such as catarrh, cold and flu. Coincidentally, the rain which occurred on Friday (March 19) trapped the dust particles, thus causing the humidity, she said.

“This is unusual because this kind of dust storms usually occur around November/December; for it to occur in March means it is part of the climate change we are talking about.” She however said the situation may remain for a couple of more days as another dust storm was recorded in the Sahara on Sunday.

John Babatunde, a medical doctor advised residents to wear clothes that are warm as respiratory diseases are bound to be common at this time. He, especially advised parents to ensure that their wards are well dressed and covered up to prevent flu attacks.

Already Lagosians have been worried about the changing weather and especially about a phenomenon called acid rain. To this effect a text message has been circulating round town that there may be an acid rain between 20-28 March and that people should beware as the rain may cause skin cancer.

Hazy Lagos in a gridlock...courtesy of Jide Salu

Mrs. Ogunwale, however, dispels this fear. “It is not acid rain. It is because of this dust haze that we are having this kind of rain. It is not pure rain because it traps a lot of dust particles and since people collect rain water for drinking and other uses, they are advised not to drink or use this kind of rain.” The United States Environmental Protection Agency, says acid rain occurs when gases such as sulphuric acid and nitric acid react in the atmosphere with water, oxygen, and other chemicals to form various acidic compounds.

Kudus to NEXT for this comprehensive report. This is what I have come to expect of such Newsprint.

NEPA IMPROVES….

Am I tempting faith with this declaration?

Why not?

Let me say that, I, Babajide Salu, have observed a noticeable improvement in Electricity Supply…..at my end of the woods, I hasten to declare. Asking locals, if my observation is in sync with theirs, they could only concur.

So what has suddenly changed?

I knew all along that it can be done. So why hasn’t it happened before now? I know that cynical locals attest to the fact electricity supply always improves once its getting to the end of the month. In a way, a gentle reminder, for bills to be paid. That aside, this regular supply of electricity, and when I mean regular, I mean between 9 -12 hours of uninterrupted supply of power is a mean deal here in Nigeria. Yes, I know its nothing to celebrate in the 21st century, buy hey, I live here and I have chosen to celebrate it and find more ways to maintain and improve upon this “phenomenon”. Some are saying that it is a cruel coincidence to observe that the young Power expert drafted in to handle the Power sector did not only fail spectacularly, its departure as a result of Acting President Goodluck dissolution of his Cabinet has finally brought respite to the sector. What a shame? What a legacy?

Finally guys, I have not made noise about it yet, but something is cooking. For the very observant ones amongst you would have noticed a new link on my blogroll. There is a need to “talk the talk and work the work.”

I have developed a dedicated blog that will eventually become a resource for people who are looking to change their mindset.

Does anybody know what the acronym P.O.O.R stand for? How about R.I.C.H?

Guys, the rich have a different mindset from the average man on the street. And guess what, they are poor. No, don’t start saying, “it’s not your portion” and all that stuff. It’s a reality of life.

Let me leave you with this:

How you are able to deal with a challenge not only says a lot about who you are and what is within you, it also determines what the world popularly refers to as SUCCESS.

Are you aware that –

SICKNESS is a result?

Adding WEIGHT is also a result.

ILLNESS is a result.

WEALTH is a result and finally

MONEY is definitely a result.

We live in a world of CAUSE and EFFECT.

If you want to change the FRUITS (RESULTS), you will first have to change the roots.

If you want to change the VISIBLE, you must first change the INVISIBLE (MINDSET).

More to come, for those who are looking to sack their Boss. See you at the TOP guys and God bless you for stopping by.

* A recently discovered news site – www.thewillnigeria.com has a story on how “NASA Meteorologist clears the air on acid rain fears. Clean site. Will recommend it.

52 Comments

  1. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept talking about this. I’ll send this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Great web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    Like

  3. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this post plus the rest of the site is also really good.

    Like

  4. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always interesting to read articles from other writers and practice a little something from their sites.

    Like

  5. I don’t even understand how I ended up right here, but I believed this submit used to be great. I do not realize who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

  6. Seo says:

    This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read article!

    Like

  7. I was pretty pleased to find this page. I want to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every part of it and i also have you book marked to look at new stuff in your site.

    Like

  8. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

    Like

  9. Eddie says:

    well pal its already gone viral i received it in my email and translated in my language 😀

    Like

  10. Odurinde says:

    Thank ALLAH it is all over no acidic rain in Lagos and PH.

    Like

  11. Naphew Arnold says:

    I don’t care about the Acid or chemical rain so far i’m alive and still vibrating……….. Manchester rule for life

    Like

  12. Aleshinloye Yinka says:

    JideSalu posted more than enough details regarding the Acid Rain on this thread, but if you had like to know more about Acid Rain kindly check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acid_rain

    I wish you could check this webpage too, it states more about Acid Rain http://www.pattayadailynews.com/en/2010/03/21/what-is-acid-rain/

    Fear not for the Acid Rain might not even fall in your area. It’s said to fall at some part of Nigeria, but I doubt it, in the sense that the Hazy Sun in the broad day light happened at Ilorin on Sunday 21st of this month, So if you noticed the Hazy Sun at your location kindly follow the precautions.

    About you people talking about the end of the world, I am not afraid of the end of the word, and it will be great if you could live-up the same gut for you to stay in the our of the Lord, get close to him and know his ways, seek for forgiveness of your sins and be prayerful “Ki olohun ki o ka wa mo awon ayanfe re o” Amen!

    Like

  13. T Yusuf says:

    i pray that all this will just a story because many people will die that especially the village people who did not understand what is happening now. Be careful from 20th of march till 30th of march. Up Nigeria up Chelsea.

    Like

  14. Ikenna says:

    I dont want this acid rain to be an obstacle to people of naija God help us

    Like

  15. ayo morawo says:

    really, y’all need to accept Jesus before it’ll be too late. a sincere thot!

    Like

  16. ayo morawo says:

    acid rain, so help us God
    NEPA improves – due to cabinet reshuffle. lol

    Like

  17. Prince Godstime says:

    Any way whether acid rain or not we are safe in the hands of the lord. I dnt belive in it and i dnt support it.

    Like

  18. Afrobabe says:

    By the way i have acid raincoats for sale!

    Like

  19. Famous Dickson says:

    Acid Rain is not going to fall say amen i luv Manchester United

    Like

  20. Famous Dickson says:

    All my big brodas and sister na lie that Acid Rain no go fall say amen i luv Manchester United

    Like

  21. jollof says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed your article and I believe you did more justice to it than I did in mine. I like how you inscribed text on one of your photos (spectacular gridlock…). Can you teach me how to do that? Thx

    Like

  22. tochukwu says:

    my people of niger make una no fear mabi this is a sign of end time.

    Like

  23. only the almighty will help this nation from the so called acid rain

    Like

  24. only God knows what this world is turning to the is also the sound of end time

    Like

  25. tochukwu says:

    what about the rivers and other things like the wet land can we walk on them

    Like

  26. ONE LOVE says:

    information is given for alertness, advantage, precaution and control. and it is not given for frightfulness, or terrified the people. even if it is mendacity, or not we should all take precaution on the information given to us by our scientist. it is said that it usually occur after every 750 yrs. Uh—- by then i was not born so i don’t have the idea of what this is all about. so my dear people, what ever the scientist say we have to take carefully precaution of it either true or not, to avoid the so-called skin cancer.
    as for the light, we don’t have light in Eleme local government area. so please let the people under the control of power supply remember us, so that we can be able to get all the necessary information needed for our health.
    to me if not for when i opened my mail, i would have not know of the recent discovery going on Nigeria.

    Like

  27. anuty zeeee says:

    what is going to happen if the acid rain did not fall from 20th -28th of these month, or if it fall in this kano, and did not fall in sokoto. what is going to happen next month?

    Like

  28. Ofunwa Aguleri says:

    I pray that the almighty God will take this away from us, we dont need to hear any bad news, we want to move forward, not sorrows, with my believe and understanding, there will not be anything like acid rain,

    Like

  29. Chris onoriode obresah says:

    I want ALL NIGERIANS to know that information is not made for you to be terrified but for you to take ADVANCE PRECAUTION to avoid acident.so where ever you are you should watchout for any CHANGE IN WEATHER,if u notice the rain is about to fail pls dont try to run to your comfort zones just take cover at the next available safe place to avoid contact with ACIDE RAIN,even if u see the cloud burning like a volcanic eruption pls be calm,JESUS is upon the throne he is in control.I love u all.From chris

    Like

  30. JOHN AYARA says:

    I am not afraid of any acid rain because the bible make us to understand that at the end we are going to experience so many things so we should be prayerful and prepared for last day is about to come acid rain is part of the signs please stay alert
      Frm 08028204184

    Like

  31. Nwafor ogidi says:

    A word is enof 4 d wise,i wish to qoute dis proverb 4 my felow igbos who are doubtful people.we should only a careful 4 nature have made it so to avoid -if say i know.

    Like

  32. Ugwunege Barnabas says:

    D issue of acid rain is neva a new phenomenon in nigeria environment, it is common in d Niger Delta region where there are a lot of Gas flaring. Therefore everybody should stay put it is nothing to panic about

    Like

  33. Damilola says:

    Thank for the informaton. I really appreciate. About Acid rain,I will say that its all because of NEPA/PHCN,if only they would have given us light at least for 12 hour per day, the acid rain will not be so dangerous as it will be that day.

    Like

  34. We should try to education the villager about acid rain becos they like drinking rain water.

    Like

  35. Oloko says:

    Tanx 4d info & i pray dat d so called does’nt comes around coz its gonna affects alot no mata d tym it falls…& lets b prayerful 2 prevent such a tin in dis country.

    Like

  36. NJAKA Chij'oke says:

    HI

    Like

  37. NJAKA Chij'oke says:

    I need information about acid rain

    Like

  38. salau says:

    let both christians and muslims should pray for God to intervein.There is nothing imposible for HIM to do.

    Like

  39. Bebo says:

    lol

    Like

  40. Bebo says:

    Make una no fair mehn .. I naija native doctor stop the rain mehn

    Like

  41. Bebo says:

    Thanks for the information we really appreciate also my people make una no worry .. Naija native doctor no go make the rain fall ooo…lol

    Like

  42. Afrobabe says:

    lmao @ using the boilers on gen…

    We didnt know how good we had it when we lived in the company estate with 24hrs light..

    We soon realised when Dad retired!!

    Improvement in electricity…Good news at last…

    Like

  43. Lara says:

    We had for about five hours on saturday and sunday in my end, which is unsual but not really a difference.

    As for the acid rain, guess we just have to wait and see.

    Like

  44. indeed, this a comprehensive report, pls i would like to know actual day that the said ACID RAIN will occur between 20-28 of march, 2010, any relevant details should sent to my mobile line on 08066281256 for us to extra-very careful on that day. Thanks for the enlightement. GOD BLESS NIGERIA AND SAVE US FROM IMPENDING NATURAL DISASTERS. (AMEN)………..

    Like

  45. Daniel .J. says:

    Thank for the information.I really appreciate.

    Like

  46. tochukwu says:

    i pray all this will just be a story because many people will be in danger that day.

    Like

  47. tochukwu says:

    what if their is no rain fall from the 20th and 28th of this mouth what is going to happen

    Like

  48. kingdom says:

    GUYS I PRAY THAT ACID WILL DIE IN THE ATMOSPHERE

    Like

  49. Gerard Onochie says:

    Abeg give me some of that acid rain….lol. That type of rain can be used for flushing toilets etc for those who complain about their bore-hole or water supply.

    I must admit I have been very sceptical and even somewhat dismissive of this so called Climate Change, but with the recent freaky snow in England and reports of freaky weather in Nigeria and in other parts of the world, I am beginning to take it seriously.

    Its good to hear about the power supply for 9-12 hours and Jide I will join you to celebrate and encourage those NEPA/PHCN team responsible. I have noticed a little POSITIVE change in aspects of Nigerian life in general are treated with little joy by most Nigerians.

    As usual your blog is very inspirational and uplifting Jide. 🙂

    Like

  50. BBB says:

    we havent had light for 5 days now in my house
    some time lastweek we had like for 3 straight days without it going off once, we were so scared cos we knew we would pay the repercussions now we hav been 5 days without
    is it fair at leats they should have stopped at 3

    Like

    1. JideSalu says:

      lollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

      Like

  51. Ayobami says:

    About Acid rain

    Like

Leave a Comment