Friday Feeling – Yar’Adua out? and Love letter from a football mad hubby to his sweetheart…

Yar'Adua and Turai

I really don’t know what to address him as – President? or what? He has been incommunicado for so long that we all have moved on. With news reported in various news quarters that Umaru Yar’Adua was to make a public appearance at (wait for it) Jumat service today is just …..scary to say the least.

What on earth is going on?

Does this man have the interest of the country at heart or what? or is he just a robot for the greedy “so and so”?

It beggars belief. Does it?

So, when he comes out, what will be the next step? What is Goodluck expected to make of all this drama? What becomes of his dissolved cabinet? What becomes of the expunged Ministers, and in particular Aondoakaa?  Will he make a come back? I have been told that he would if all the permutation is right. What permutation?

234Next.com reported that top presidency and PDP officials confirmed to NEXT last night, that the planned outing has being fixed for today’s Friday prayers.

“The idea is to achieve maximum political impact and a religious approval” a PDP official said last night. The PDP chairman; Vincent Ogbulafor, the speaker; Dimeji Bankole and a few other officials were in a closed-door meeting regarding the development, and the mood at the meeting, a knowledgeable source told NEXT, was “celebratory and bubbling.”

Celebratory and bubbling, hehn?

This is all a joke? Really. It is a joke. I can go on and on, but of what use will it do. So as usual, let’s wait and see.

It’s Friday, I didn’t mean to get you all worked up, ok. Why not have a joke on me with the love letter below. Have a great weekend guys and God bless you for stopping by.

Dear Sweetheart

1.     Between 11 June and 11 July 2010, you should read the sports section of the newspaper so that you are aware of what is going on regarding the World of Soccer, and that way you will be able to join in the conversations. If you fail to do this, then you will be looked at in a bad way, or you will be totally ignored. DO NOT complain about not receiving any attention.

2.    During the World Cup, the television is mine, at all times, without any exceptions. If you even take a glimpse of the remote control, you will lose it (your eye).

3.    If you have to pass by in front of the TV during a game, I don’t mind, as long as you do it crawling on the floor and without distracting me.

4.    During the games I will be blind, deaf and mute, unless I require a refill of my drink or something to eat. You are out of your mind if you expect me to listen to you, open the door, answer the telephone, or pick up the baby that just fell on the floor….It won’t happen.

5.    It would be a good idea for you to keep at least 2 six packs in the fridge at all times, as well as plenty of things to nibble on (excluding your body parts), and please do not make any funny faces to my friends when they come over to watch the games. In return, you will be allowed to use the TV between 12am and 6am, unless they replay a good game that I missed during the day.

6.    Please, please, please!! If you see me upset because one of my teams is losing, DO NOT say “get over it, it’s only a game”, or “don’t worry, they’ll win next time”. If you say these things, you will only make me angrier and I will love you less. Remember, you will never ever know more about football than me and your so called “words of encouragement” will only lead to a break up or divorce.

7.    You are welcome to sit with me to watch one game and you can talk to me during halftime but only when the commercials are on, and only if the half time scores is pleasing me. In addition, please note I am saying “one” game; hence do not use the World Cup as a nice cheesy excuse to “spend time together”.

8.    The replays of the goals are very important. I don’t care if I have seen them or I haven’t seen them, I want to see them again, Many times.

9.    Tell your friends NOT to have any babies, or any other child related parties or gatherings that requires my attendance because:

a)    I will not go,

b)    I will not go, and

c)    I will not go.

10.  But, if a friend of mine invites us to his house on a Sunday to watch a game, we will be there in a flash.

11.   The daily World Cup highlights show on TV every night is just as important as the games themselves. Do not even think about saying “but you have already seen this…why don’t you change the channel to something we can all watch?” because, the reply will be, “Refer to Rule #2 of this list”.

12.  And finally, please save your expressions such as “Thank God the World Cup is only every 4 years”. I am immune to these words, because before and after this comes the Champions League, Premier League, Super 14, Spanish League, KPL, Grand Prix, Tri Nations, hell, even WrestleMania, etc.

P/S

By the way if you get stuck on the road call 911 or AA.

Thank you for your anticipated cooperation.

NIGERIA: Is Muammar Gaddafi really a mad man?

Mad man Col. Muammar Gaddafi?

Come on guys? Come off it?

Is the Libyan strong man, David Mark a mad man as Nigeria’s Senate Leader, David Mark has purported?

Throw away emotions for a minute.

Throw away sentiments (are they the same? Who cares).

Just sit back and carefully consider this for a minute. Hold on, you are rushing me and not waiting for me to make my point. Just keep your point close to your chest first and let me land. For all of our interest, do not read any meaning into what I am about to say(write), but consider the thoughts behind it.

Don’t you think that Gaddafi has in actual fact opened up the debate every Nigerian that means well for the PEOPLE have been dying to discuss? Don’t you think so? I do and I will try to tell you why?

Yes, I understand all the diplomatic “wahala” and why as a sovereign leader, he was really not meant to have thought aloud. However, the man has said his mind and we should thank him for it.

Senate President, David "the" Mark

When I saw the laughable Senate leader on TV addressing the “quarter full or “quarter empty” assembly with what appeared to be a photograph of a puppy on a card, I could not help thinking his bark was puppy like. Seriously, these guys do not know what is about to hit them. They are all breathing in cocoon land.

Read below (as reported in 234NEXT.com) how he reacted with anger at a suggestion by Ayim Ude (PDP Ebonyi state) to insert into the motion’s list of prayers, a prayer condemning inflammatory comments by both internal and international personalities.

“With all due respect Mr. Ude, why do you want to give a madman that level of publicity,” the senate president replied angrily. “I don’t think he deserves attention at all. He has said the same about England, Switzerland and every other country … and you want to give it that prominence. Truly, in my candid opinion, I don’t think his deserves any attention.”

Afterwards, like contractors scared of losing their oil allocation, Senators lined up jostling for attention in front of the television cameras to drum up support condemning Gaddafi’s suggestion.

Gaddafi in his humble opinion had said “The only thing that could put an end to the bloodshed … is the appearance of another Mohammed Ali Jinnah, who established a state for the Muslims and another for the Christians,” he told African student leaders, some of them from Nigeria, the agency reported.

“The painful situation that Nigeria is enduring resembles the situation of the Indian subcontinent before 1947, at the time of the massacres between Hindus and Muslims,” Gaddafi said in the remarks on Monday.

He went ahead to suggest that Nigerian’s immediate past President Olusegun Obasanjo should lead efforts for a Christian homeland in the south with Lagos as its capital, and that a Muslim homeland in the north should have Abuja as its principal city.

I wouldn’t know about Obasanjo leading the South, they wouldn’t let him anyway, but hey, it should be opened up for debate.

Just because Col. Gaddafi had made suggestions in the past which were condemned does not mean he would never in his life make a good suggestion. Abi?

My call is this. It should not be ignored. It should be debated in the open.

THE WARRI BOMB BLAST

Silverbird reports the Bomb blast

It hurts me to read of the total chaos in Warri, oil rich town in Delta State. It really hurts me, especially when I think back to my days in Warri as a young student of Federal Government College Warri. Mehnnn, it was so peaceful. I had visited the Shell Estate on a number of times for one Cultural show or the other. How it had degenerated into what it is today is, BEYOND me to say the least.

All I would say is this. The day, the so called leaders put aside selfish interests and fight for the people, the day peace would begin to rear its beautiful head. I am too scared to go there really. I am. As much as I’d loved to.


THE MAN IN THE HAT DISSOLVES YARA’DUA’S KITCHEN CABINET

At long last. What took him so long?

The acting president lulled all the members of the federal executive council into a false sense of security prior to their sack yesterday, according to a minister present at the meeting who spoke to NEXT on condition of anonymity.

“We had twenty items on the agenda,” the minister said. “The order to disband us did not come until the end of the meeting when we had gone through every single item on the agenda.”According to the minister, in spite of widespread suggestions of a dissolution, there was no sign in Mr. Jonathan’s body language that he was going to follow through.

“The meeting was just like any other meeting,” he disclosed.

The sacking therefore came as a shock to many in the room.

“He just said it without any ceremony at all,” he said. “One minute we were approving the purchase of houses for customs, the next thing we have all been sacked. Some of my fellow ministers even started clapping and laughing. One woman minister was in hysterics and was inconsolable. We started asking ‘why, why why’, but he just thanked all of us for our services to Nigeria, got up and left. I think we were just dumbfounded.”

The minister also said some of his colleagues were exploring the possibility of legal redress. “Is it legal? I don’t know. Others are looking at that. Me, I was a politician before this and will remain one after. It changes nothing.”

The above quotes was reported in 234NEXT.com

What does that tell you about our leaders? Asking if it was legal to be sacked? Can you just imagine how these leaders think? Is that really the right word? Think? Definitely not, because they don’t really know what that God given ability is.

I can understand if any of the Ministers was dumbfounded. I can understand that. Really, I can. But to be in inconsolable hysterics?  To be in SHOCK? Shock at what? Of been booted out of your father’s house? I have said it and will continue to say it, don’t underestimate the “Man in the Hat”. Let’s see where he goes from here, I am praying and hoping the right choices are made.

I am certain Acting President Goodluck is aware that History is awaiting him, should he get it right in the 12 months or so he has left. I wish him God’s wisdom rather than condemn him believing nothing good will come out of this cabinet dissolution. As for me, I am giving him a chance.


THE RALLY IN ABUJA BY THE YOUTH

The Abuja Youth Rally

I am so glad that this is taking place at this time. It was reported that the protesters who included celebrities like Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Stella Damasus, Omawumi Megbele, the Rooftop MCs, as well as older well-wishers like Peace Fiberesima, Dele Momodu, Muma Gee, Nona Adimora and Charly Boy, assembled at the Eagle Square at 11 in the morning, from where they proceeded to the Assembly grounds. Kudus to them all.

For me, the implication of this rally is that our democracy has come of age. That we can carry placards and protest is a testament of our growing maturity as a democratic nation and as for those that will argue that it has taken this long to enjoy this benefit; I have this to say – stop moaning and be thankful to the Ken Saro Wiwas (the executed Nigerian Environmentalist) of this world who had sacrificed his life for such a time as this. May his soul rest in perfect peace.

Still a lot to touch on, but hey, there is another day. Is tomorrow Friday? Gone so fast?

Hey guys, thanks for stopping by. God bless, and I mean it, GOD BLESS YOU.