Lola Shoneyin: How my father’s jailer can offer Nigeria a fresh start.

Muhammadu-Buhari-jide-salu.comPossibly the worst year of my life was 1984. I was 10 years old and blissfully unaware of the changing face of Nigeria’s political landscape. And a rather unyielding face it was – that of Muhammadu Buhari who had recently overthrown Shehu Shagari, a democratically elected president. For Buhari, this was a necessary coup d’etat because Nigeria was being overrun by corrupt politicians. However, his regime would have a devastating impact on my family’s fortunes.

For the first time, at the close of the school term in Edinburgh, my father wasn’t there to pick us up. My older brother, aged 15, took charge and we made our way to Heathrow. Touching down in Nigeria, it was my mother who met us at the airport. She didn’t smile, perhaps couldn’t; her mouth was turned down at the corners like she was being flattened by existence. Something was wrong, clearly. I waited until we were settled in the car and piped up: “Where’s Daddy?” Without turning to glance at me, my mother answered: “He’s in jail.” She always had an aversion to bullshit but even, for her, that was pretty cold. For the rest of the journey, I thought about my Daddy who returned the cash to the phone company when our account was credited with thousands of naira; Daddy who, born into abject poverty, personified what it meant to work really hard and make your own dreams come true, in a hopefully new meritocratic Nigeria.

On getting home, one of my older brothers explained that Buhari’s deputy, the uncompromising, much-feared Colonel Tunde Idiagbon, had commanded that all government contractors in Ogun state had received a notice to appear before a special committee. My dad honoured the invitation and presented all the papers to show that it was in fact the government that owed his company money. He was given two options: to pay a large amount (that no one quite understood how they arrived at) or go to jail. On principle, my dad said he wasn’t going to pay money that he didn’t owe. He was not alone. I have a group of friends with whom I am forever bound by this shared ordeal of seeing our fathers treated like criminals. And as it was for many, this period signified the beginning of financial ruin.

My father spent six months in jail and came out a different man. For one, he started clapping at our solemn family devotion in the mornings, something we never did. He explained that that was what they did in prison. He was never a big talker but seeing him work at adjusting to normal life was painful for everyone around him.

Before his release, the two giant crushers and all the machinery and equipment that belonged to his civil engineering firm were liquidated. As children, our lives changed too. We were placed in state schools and said goodbye to our privileged lifestyles.

My dad is 87 now and he’s an active member of the local advisory board of the All Progressives Congress, the opposition party that has recently adopted Buhari as the presidential flag-bearer, 30 years after his first outing as a military head of state. Like many Nigerians, my father was saddened when he heard President Goodluck Jonathan claim that “stealing is not corruption”. With 24% unemployment, there are limited opportunities for young people, making them easy fodder for militants in the southernmost parts of the country and dreaded religious fundamentalists in the north. People clamour for leadership.lola-shoneyin-jide-salu.comNigerian author Lola Shoneyin. Photograph: Observer

For the last three weeks, I have been travelling with the presidential campaign team and I have had the opportunity to listen to people and interview them. I have also had a personal need to understand this man Buhari who has run for the highest office a record three times. At the beginning, I admit I had doubts and misgivings. It’s hard not to when you’ve been stung before. But after several conversations with him, I have come to understand what the mass hysteria is all about and why Nigerians would vote for this soft-spoken but highly principled 72-year-old.

It’s quite simple and, having worked as a schoolteacher for years, I can use a school setting in my analogy. Kids like a teacher to whom they can give the runaround but when it’s crunch time, they favour an environment where the teacher is firm, one where clear boundaries have been set. Having a president who is widely described as “clueless” may have seemed to many like an opportunity, but the goodwill that Jonathan enjoyed in 2011 has been frittered away. These days, governors in the opposition parties are starved of funds and harassed when they don’t do the bidding of a first lady who campaigns for her personal candidates. Many Nigerians believe that it is time to return to one of the few faces of anti-corruption in Nigeria’s political history. Even my wrongly-imprisoned Dad would recognise that Buhari’s ambition was to stem corruption.

Unlike many Nigerian past presidents, Major-General Buhari does not have a huge mansion. You won’t hear about him owning a bank or sitting on the board of banks. Neither does he own expansive farmland. In fact, he wrote to the minister of finance requesting that he only receive 10% of the allowance that all past presidents receive on a monthly basis. Overwhelmingly, his lack of greed and personal venality means people trust him. Within a democratic dispensation, whatever excesses Buhari’s singlemindedness at tackling corruption might have shown 30 years ago can and will be curbed.

He has surrounded himself with a brilliant, savvy team of young Nigerians and I much enjoy the passion with which he talks about his three main priorities: unemployment, insecurity and education. For some Nigerians, he might not be an ideal candidate but for many more, people want anything but Jonathan. And even better it’s someone that they feel they can believe in.

Lola Shoneyin is a Nigerian novelist and poet.

[Via The Guardian]

Adeyemi Adefulu: Why I Support Buhari, My Jailer who has become our hope..

Lola’s account dwelt on the torture that she (at such a young age) and her family had to endure and the telling effect of such an experience on the family.

Why I Support Buhari, My Jailer By Adeyemi AdefuluI found Lola Shoneyin’s piece on Buhari titled, “How My Father’s Jailer Can Offer Nigeria A Fresh Start” very engaging although it dredged up some very painful memories. It took me down memory lane; indeed, it was a vivid reminder of an awful road on which l and others like Audu Ogbeh, now an ardent Buhari backer, travelled.

It was my painful duty as the “Captain” of the detainees, to receive Lola’s father, Engr. Tinuoye Shoneyin into the Abeokuta prison and to make him as comfortable as possible in the extremely difficult prison environment, providing him with clothes, a towel and toiletries.

Engr. Shoneyin had, as a matter of courtesy, responded to the invitation of the government of Ogun State then led by Colonel Oladipo Diya, who later became the deputy to Gen. Sani Abacha, to answer some questions and had expected to be back home that evening. He was not to return home for six months! 

Lola’s account dwelt on the torture that she (at such a young age) and her family had to endure and the telling effect of such an experience on the family. Many detainees never recovered from the torture and the injustice that this experience represented. In many cases, mine included, there was no accusation, much less a charge.

One slight misstatement in Lola’s account was that the detention was at the behest of Col. Tunde Idiagbon, the erstwhile deputy to General Buhari. I doubt if that is quite true.

The problem with autocracy is that once the atmosphere has been established or allowed by the leader, many tin gods at the various levels of the strata will for any number of reasons, exploit the situation for the purpose of settling personal and petty scores including disputations over girlfriends!

So in the case of Lola’s father, the local despot at the time was Colonel Oladipo Diya who was mean, brutal and sadistic and locked up as many people as he wanted, for good, bad or sometimes no reason at all. He flogged civil servants for lateness, taxed the people on every imaginable score, and signed for nearly 20 people who had been sentenced to death (none of whom his predecessor permitted to be killed), to be executed by hanging in one day.

He reveled in making people suffer wherewith he was promptly given the name of “Kunya” meaning tormentor which was the direct opposite of what his name “Diya” means in the Yoruba language. He was, indeed, the harbinger of torment and suffering. He it was who saw a ghost in every situation. If the sun was too bright he blamed it on the dethroned politicians. He was a cruel taskmaster who tried irrationally to get water out of stone.

At a stage he rounded up contractors who had done various jobs for the state government and dictated that they should either pay certain arbitrary fines or be locked up in prison.   I was in the gulag for 18 months, 16 of which l spent in the Abeokuta prison. Prior to this time, I had presided over three Ministries in four years and three months. There was never an accusation or a charge of any sort against me. His investigators were surprised at how clean my affairs were and how l could succinctly explain every transaction l was involved in including providing photocopies of cheques that even pre-dated my appointment.

“Were you expecting that this type of thing would happen? Why did you leave a thriving law practice for a job like this?” they asked me repeatedly. Therein lies the dilemma of our country that needs good people to preside over its affairs, yet castigates the few who dare to get in the fray. “The punishment for the wise who refuse to take part in the government of their people,” said a Greek philosopher, “is to be ruled by fools.”    

I came to understand that Diya’s grouse with me was that l was so close to the late Chief Olabisi Onabanjo, my governor, and that there was no way of getting Onabanjo without getting Adefulu his political son and confidant! “Onabanjo did nothing Adefulu did not know of,” Diya was reported to have said repeatedly. So l had to be purged! Oluokun the head of state security, himself a dastardly character, was Diya’s hatchet man.

When all efforts at intimidation and harassment failed, they changed tactics and tried to recruit me as an informant against Onabanjo. It soon became clear to them however, that I was not going to be party to their pursuit of crass injustice and motive hunting.  I asked Oluokun pointedly to cock his gun and shoot and kill me because under no circumstances would l be part of such villainy. In any case, unless l wanted to become a liar, such incriminating evidence did not exist except in the figment of Diya’s convoluted imagination.

Onabanjo was the quintessential leader – open, fair minded, as straight as a spoke and a great lover of the people; a man who, to this day, several years after his demise, l still hold in the highest regard. 

At the time of my incarceration, my family was at a more delicate stage than the Shoneyins, because it was younger and less endowed. My first son Adeoye, was just under 10 years and our last daughter, Dayo was three months old. I was 37 years old at the time of the coup. My family was subjected to a long and extremely humiliating deprivation. It was the unjust compensation l received for a job to which l gave the very best of my life at a very young age (try as you may, such injustice never leaves you. The wound may heal but the scar is there and sometimes stares you in the face). I tried hard to be strong and for the most part, l was. The knowledge that I had served with the very best of my ability in a job l truly enjoyed, gave me peace of mind and assurance.

The open and vocal agitation of many well-meaning citizens such as Professor Wole Soyinka for my release was an act of grace for which l will forever be grateful. The only time l broke down was the day my son, Adeoye, turned 10. With a smuggled recorder, I had recorded a birthday message for him and his young siblings admonishing them to be strong in the knowledge that God was on our side. After recording the message, l wept profusely. It was terrible!

My co-prisoners, including my Deputy Governor, the late Chief Sesan Soluade, and the present Emir of Suleija, Alhaji Anwal Ibrahim, the erstwhile Governor of Niger State, and the others, tried hard to console me. I had been the strong one, the encourager of the brethren, but l guess the cup had become too full and it ran over.    While time heals, the impact of such injustice endures.  It leaves a telling effect which you carry for the rest of your life. Ironically, when l was finally released, l was in hospital where l had just undergone an emergency operation. Liberty had come at last but it met me totally broken and incapacitated. At my release and after, no one offered any apology for this gruesome and very unjust recompense.

Nobody, without due process, should ever have the power to visit such humiliation and injustice on any human being. The irony of dictatorship is that a leader can be so conscientiously wrong in his crusading mission.

The Buhari regime was very wrong in my case as in the case of several others. I, along with many others, had come into office with the purest motive of service. It was what l had always wanted to do. I thought it was my life’s mission and when the opportunity came l did the work as if my life depended on it. I left a lucrative practice to serve my people. I was totally accountable, yet l was unfairly thrown into jail for no just cause for 18 months!   

That was many years ago and since l have focused on re-building my life and raising my family.

I have prayed and tried hard to forgive my unjust tormentors but l know that the scar is there and people like Lola Shoneyin stroke that weak point now and again, albeit unwittingly.

Obviously this is not an experience that can be wished away because it evidently affected my being and changed my life fundamentally. It makes me appreciate people like Mandela so much – 26 years on Robben Island (have you been there?) and he came out with no bitterness and no guile! Such men are rare!  

Understandably then, it has taken some effort for me to embrace Buhari’s candidacy. I have never voted for him. I did not even like him. But as my friend, Audu Ogbeh said to me once, “so much has gone wrong with our polity, that our emphasis now must not be on ourselves but on the survival of the nation.” I have no doubt he is right. This is a time when the overriding interest must be that of the country.  As a student of history, l know that while constitutions can be copied and adopted, in the end every nation will only learn by its national experience.

The history of many of the democracies we admire today is replete with unimaginable and odious occurrences that characterized their development. It is obvious to me that the trust we reposed in President Jonathan in 2011 has been wantonly squandered.    The sobering state of our nation and realpolitik has made me take another look at Buhari. How viable is he for our polity given the available options? Is the General, the devil he is portrayed to be, or a victim of circumstances or a misunderstood individual? To me President Jonathan has been such a disappointment in many critical areas of our national life.

There has been unprecedented violence and blood letting under this administration, which, naively in my view, treated the Boko Haram insurgency with kid gloves and a total lack of resolve. Today, Boko Haram has established a formidable force and has succeeded, before our very eyes, in changing the map of Nigeria.

The President appears to have turned deaf ears to the voices of wisdom and surrounded himself with cronies whose main pre-occupation is to exploit him. Some of his spokesmen have made a virtue of rascality and turned public relations upside down. Miscreants who should be in jail for their past deeds are the ones now threatening that our collective vote must go a particular way or there will be insurrection.

We never heard of  “democracy” at gunpoint till now. 

To the discerning, it is clear that the Boko Haram insurgency has been employed as a source of inscrutable abuse, or how else do we explain a Nigerian private plane filled with raw US dollars being impounded abroad?

How many such planeloads escaped without being caught is anybody’s guess, yet our troops are said to be so ill equipped that the insurgents have better arms. All this despite the huge sums that have been voted for defence under this administration; one wonders where all that money went.

Then the massive corruption in every sphere of public office – pension funds stuffed into pillows and mattresses, etc.

The disgusting state pardon for a man who, before an incredulous world, broke the terms to a court order and left Britain dressed as a woman!

This is not how a leader should exercise such hallowed prerogative power. The President’s conduct sent a chilling message down the spine of the polity that corruption and stealing are the way to go. You can add to that the company of shady men wanted abroad for all manner of crimes, including drug offences, who have been installed in positions of leadership in the PDP or have been fielded as Senatorial candidates.

The management or lack of it of our foreign reserves (which have become totally depleted) and reports of billions of missing dollars dominate the air. Everybody who is working hard is in trouble. Joblessness has risen to record levels.  The youths are, justifiably restless because they have no future in the present dispensation. The tales of woe are just endless. Billions of dollars have disappeared into petroleum subsidy yet even the cost of kerosene, the poor man’s fuel, is at an all-time high. It is the oil sheiks that are being subsidized not the ordinary people.  To say the ship of state is clearly adrift in Nigeria is an understatement.

A land that should be flowing with milk and honey has become the laughing stock of the international community.

We simply can no longer tolerate this grotesque level of gluttony and of corruption.

There is an urgent need for a change otherwise, we face a huge problem and social dis-location ahead beyond what we already have.

These are the reasons why l have embraced Buhari. If you look at his past, and some of the statements credited to him, he is not an easy man for a person like me to embrace. But 30 years is a long time and l honestly believe he has had enough time to reflect and to change. He is no more a military officer. He has retained a sharp, social conscience for the people.  

I am impressed with the hunger with which he has fought for elections. I want to believe that it is out of an earnest desire to work for the people and to do some things right that General Buhari has struggled so hard to win the nation’s leadership through the electoral process.  While he may not be a saint, he is certainly not a villain. His choice of a very good man in Professor Yemi Osinbajo, for a Vice President gave me the assurance that Buhari was listening to the comments on his areas of weakness. There are enough checks and balances in a democratic set up to make fears of a return to dictatorship a joke.  I am also impressed by his modest lifestyle, unlike many of his ilk who live in opulence and indulgence. This says something about the man. I can trust this man with my wallet in a way l cannot do with Jonathan who appears to have forgotten where he came from.

Jonathan has lost the golden opportunity to fundamentally affect the lives of the ordinary folks. I am persuaded that it will be a tragedy for us to continue in this drift for another four years. While Buhari is far from being my ideal candidate and l worry about some of his deficiencies, my perception is that although he may be short on the skills required for the modern management of a state – technology, economic management etc. – his record shows that he has the ability to enlist support. I hope this time he will choose the right people and avoid those who will use his name to do iniquity.

While Buhari may not be the ideal candidate we need, he is, certainly the best we have. There is a time in the history of a nation when an individual is needed to rescue it or perform a historic role.  As it was with Winston Churchill who provided Britain with the much needed war-time leadership, General Charles de Gaulle who restored the confidence of France, Madiba, Nelson Mandela of South Africa who championed the cause of majority rule and showed the way to national reconciliation and our own Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo who provided leadership to a country on the brink after the Abacha years, my belief is that this is the hour for Muhammadu Buhari to stop the torment of a hemorrhaging nation and restore its confidence. 

Lastly, the General owes me one.  I will still like Buhari to vocalize an apology and offer some succour to people like me whom his government brutalized in the past. It is the least he can do. To do so is not weakness. Indeed, it is strength to admit the mistakes of the past and to promote national reconciliation.  For now, even ahead of the apology, and in the national interest, l have thrown in my hat with Buhari.

So has Lola Shoneyin’s father. Now 87 but still spritely and alert, my big brother and comrade, Engr. Tinuoye Shoneyin, always a big heart, is enthusiastically by my side at political rallies and party support meetings. Our jailer has become our hope. Life is indeed nothing if not an agglomeration of ironies.   

Adeyemi Adefulu MFR , is a Lagos-based lawyer. [via Sahara Reporters]

My salary is only $12,000 monthly, says Mugabe.

Zimbabwe’s President Robert Mugabe has revealed that he now earns $12,000 a month, up from $4,000 that was gazetted last year.Mugabe+birthday+jide+salu.com

He made the revelations on Thursday while commissioning medical equipment bought through a $100 million Export-Import Bank of China loan facility in Harare.

The 91-year-old leader described his salary as meagre and not in line with salaries of other leaders in the region. He said he earned a basic salary of of $10,000 and allowances amounting to $2,000.

President Mugabe said Zimbabweans who have been reeling under a severe economic collapse should be grateful that they could still put food on the table.

“We should all just be grateful that we have food on our tables,” he said. “If there’s isitshwala (thick maize meal porridge) and meat – that’s it. I am suffering just like you.”

However, the president’s family is reputed to be one of the richest in the country after acquiring several farms during the controversial land reform programme that began in 2000.

Lavish wedding

Last year he gave his daughter and her husband $100,000 and 55 head of cattle as presents at their wedding.

The 24-year-old Bona and her pilot husband Simba Chikore tied the knot at a lavish ceremony held at the First Family’s plush private residence in Harare.

The majority of Zimbabwe’s civil servants earn an average of $300 a month.

President Mugabe blames the economic collapse on sanctions imposed by Western countries on his government.

However, critics say the economic problems were caused by the chaotic land reform programme and the veteran ruler’s unilateral decision to deploy troops to fight in the Democratic Republic of Congo’s civil war in 1997.

The president has also been accused of implementing poorly thought out economic policies since he assumed power in 1980.

[via Africa Review]

Jimmy Thoronka, Sierra Leone’s top athlete living rough in London: ‘Some days I get no food at all’

Jimmy Thoronka, who vanished after Commonwealth Games, says he can’t go home because Ebola has wiped out his family.

 Jimmy Thoronka, Sierra Leone's top athlete living rough in London-jide-salu.com Jimmy Thoronka, now living rough on the streets of London. Photograph: Graeme Robertson

Sierra Leone’s top sprinter, who vanished after the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow last summer, has been found in an emaciated state, living rough on the streets of London.

Jimmy Thoronka, 20, his country’s number one 100m sprinter, and tipped by some for a big sporting career, disappeared at the end of the Games last August. Along with several other athletes he failed to return to Sierra Leone, and until now his whereabouts had been unclear. But speaking to the Guardian he has described what has happened to him since he vanished.

The homeless youngester also revealed his feelings at discovering the devastation Ebola has wreaked on his family back home, who had adopted him after the death of his birth parents. “I was very excited to be coming to the Games in Glasgow,” he said.

“I saw it as my big chance. I had competed in international competitions before, in Singapore and the Isle of Man, but this was the big one for me.” When he and his team mates left Sierra Leone for Glasgow, some Ebola cases had been confirmed in a few of the villages surrounding Freetown, but the epidemic had not yet taken hold of the capital. The death toll in the country is now more than 3,500 cases.

Thoronka said: “I was hoping to win a medal for my country. But during the Games I got the terrible news that my uncle had died, probably from Ebola. I couldn’t stop crying. It was difficult to continue with competing but I tried to carry on.” Thoronka competed in one 4×100m relay at the games, but failed to win any medals. He was making times of 10.58 seconds for the 100m sprint before the competition.

Today, Thoronka washes his set of spare clothes in the public toilets and then spreads them out on the grass in the park to dry. He is not working illegally, nor claiming benefits or housing. He understands the legal implications of remaining in the UK after his visa has expired but said that his situation is hopeless. Jimmy Thoronka, Sierra Leone's top athlete living rough in London-jide-salu.com

The president of the Sierra Leone Athletics Association, Abdul Karim Sesay, said Thoronka had the potential to be one of the fastest sprinters in the world. He said: “He is not only a brilliant sprinter, a natural athlete and extremely fast, he is also very disciplined and focused and willing to listen carefully to his trainers so that he can improve his performance. He wants to be the best sprinter in the world and I believe with the right training and conditions he could make it.”

Thoronka described what happened after the games. “I wanted to go to London for a while after the Games but my bag with my money and passport in it was stolen at Glasgow station. I was scared to go to the police in case they arrested me and put me in a cell so I begged someone at the station to pay my fare to London and they agreed to do that.” The athlete then managed to make contact with an acquaintance who initially agreed that he could stay with him and his wife in Leicester.

There, while watching an African TV channel, he heard the news that his mother, Jelikatu Kargbo, a nurse in the police service, had also died of Ebola. He later discovered that his entire immediate family – including his three adopted sisters and brother – had been killed by the virus.

After a while the acquaintance in Leicester asked him to leave, saying that he and his wife needed their privacy. Distraught and unsure what to do, he said he drifted down to London and began sleeping in parks and on night buses and begging for £1 from passers-by to buy chips. “Some days I get no food at all. I wash in public toilets and sleep in the park,” he said.

“I wake up around 4am and if I’ve got a bus pass I get on the night bus and sleep there until morning. I met a man who sometimes lets me sleep at his house but I have to wait outside for him to come home at 10 or 11pm and I get very cold.

“We have a cold season in Sierra Leone but it is not cold like England. Some days I don’t think I’m going to make it and just feel like killing myself. My dream is to become one of the best sprinters in the world but I don’t see how that can happen now. Maybe someone will see that I have potential and give me some sponsorship so that I can train here.” Jimmy Thoronka, Sierra Leone's top athlete living rough in London-jide-salu.com

Thoronka was the first athlete in Sierra Leone to carry the Queen’s baton in the run up to the games.

If he returns to Sierra Leone he is not expected to receive any training as he has become a “young adult orphan” and because of the Ebola crisis there is great uncertainty about whether or not he will be able to continue his sprinting career. Meanwhile in the UK he is barely surviving. “I’m very frightened of what will happen to me. Life here is very bad for me but if I return to Sierra Leone I don’t think I will make it.”

In a small black rucksack he carries all his possessions: a phone, an old toothbrush, a spare pair of underpants and trousers, and a packet of paracetamol, purchased in a pound shop, to stave off the aches and pains that come from living on the streets. “I can’t go back to Sierra Leone because my whole family has been wiped out and I can’t make it alone. Nobody is doing athletics there now. Ebola has destroyed so much. But I can’t survive here either if I continue living like this. I don’t know what I am going to do,” he said.

[via The Guardian]

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie features in Vogue’s Closet Diaries.

 

THIS March, novelist and short-story writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is taking the Today I’m Wearing reins.Chimamanda-Adichie-March-6-Vogue-jide-salu.com

A lover of bold patterns and bright colours, Adichie’s chic style incorporates designer items – DSquared2, Carolina Herrera and Anya Hindmarch are among her favourites – with unique pieces, often tailor-made and sourced in her native Nigeria.

Adichie grew up in  the south eastern Nigeria town of Nsukka, before going to study in the United States at the age of 19. Her novels, Purple Hibiscus, Half of a Yellow Sun and Americanah – which is in the process of being made into a film starring David Oyelowo and Lupita Nyong’o – have earned her numerous awards and accolades, including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 2005 and the National Book Critics Circle Award 2013. She was also named as one of CNN’s Leading Women of 2014.

Not only a fiction writer, Adichie has become just as well-known for her narrative of gender roles in contemporary society. Her TED x Talk in 2013, titled We Should All Be Feminists, went viral when Beyoncé sampled it on her empowerment single, Flawless.

See her Today I’m Wearing photo diary  here and click through the gallery below to see our past fashion stars in action.

Over the past four years, we’ve stepped into the shoes of some of the world’s most stylish, as they opened their wardrobes to us every day for a month. From Olivia Palermo in sunny New York to Rosie Huntington-Whiteley in rainy London, the stars gave us sartorial inspiration for every occasion.

Chimamanda-Adichie-March-2-Vogue-jide-salu.com

2
March

Hello from Nigeria Vogue.co.uk! Today I am wearing an old, much-loved Carolina Herrera dress and shoes by Emanuel Ungaro. I designed the neckpiece from individually cut and twisted strips of ankara fabric bought at Lagos’ Balogun market.

Chimamanda-Adichie-March-3-Vogue-jide-salu.com1

3
March

For a speaking event, I am wearing a Peter Pilotto skirt, Ann Taylor top, Annarita N jacket and Miu Miu shoes. The handbag is Anya Hindmarch, which I find myself reaching for very often, because it’s just big enough to hold a book and has a slight lovely retro feel.

Chimamanda-Adichie-March-4-Vogue-jide-salu.com

4
March

I am wearing a Stella Jean dress. It reminds me of a dress my mother wore often when I was growing up. My shoes are Sophia Webster – I am always grateful for beautiful heels that are below 4 inches. My belt is from Target. My headwrap is an ankara fabric from Nsukka market.

Chimamanda-Adichie-March-5-Vogue-jide-salu.comChimamanda-Adichie-March-5-2-Vogue-jide-salu.com

5
March

I am wearing a BCBG top and DSquared2 shoes. My bag is by a Nigerian designer Obsidian, bought in a lovely shop called L’espace in Lagos. I designed the trousers, and my superbly-talented tailor Razak made them.

Chimamanda-Adichie-March-6-Vogue-jide-salu.com

6
March

This wrap-around skirt and top are by a Nigerian designer Itunu. My brother says my Zara shoes remind him of Cinderella, which might be ironic, the shoes being the only thing I find tolerable about the Cinderalla story. My bag is from Chloe.

Nigeria to mint currency for Ghana. #GhanaIndependence

Currency notes of Ghana, Ivory Coast and other countries would soon be printed by the Nigerian Security Printing and Minting (NSPM) Plc, its managing director, Joseph Ugbo, revealed yesterday.A woman holds 03 July 2007 in Accra a waHe told the House of Representatives committee on banking and currency at the 2015 budget defence that apart from the notes, other security documents of the countries would also be printed by the NSPM.

Ugbo said an installation of newly procured state-of-the-art machines for security documents has since commenced.

He said the installations are aimed at perfecting final preparation in the build up to the production of the banknotes and other security documents required by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The managing director said the Lagos and Abuja facilities of the company can produce 1.2 billion and 1.4 billion bank notes while the new facility could print 1.2 billion notes.

Chairman of the committee Rep Jones Onyeriri however queried the N200 million earmarked as exit incentives as against the N150 million in 2014 as well as N50 million for the year-end gift by the company.

[via Ghana Web]

Nile Rodgers on New Chic Album: ‘It Was Like I Had Gone Back in Time’..

Nike-Rogers-jide-salu“I went from being the happiest guy in the world to a guy making a life-or-death decision. At that point, I decided that I was going to do more music than I have ever done in my life.”

Nile Rodgers, frontman for pioneering disco group Chic and in-demand pop-funk producer, is reminiscing about the past five years of his life. In 2010, the musician received a box of tapes containing unfinished Chic material. The recordings, which contained the ghostly voices of now-deceased members Bernard Edwards, Luther Vandross and others, gave Rodgers the impetus to complete the material for It’s About Time, the group’s first album since 1992’s Chic-ism. A few months later, Rodgers was diagnosed with prostate cancer and began to consider both his legacy and the end of his life.

Now cancer-free, Rodgers is prepping the March 20th release of the album’s first single “I’ll Be There” with a mini-documentary, which we’re premiering here (see video below).

Rodgers says the theme of the album, as the title implies, is time. “I’ve always had a lot to say. . .But it’s always worked best when I say it through music,” he says. “So when I thought about where I was at this point in my life, all I kept thinking about was time.” The guitarist admits that there “was no reason spiritually or artistically” to record another Chic album, but when he heard the tapes, “it was like I had gone back in time.”

March 20th is hardly an arbitrary date, as Rodgers timed the song’s release to a total solar eclipse set to appear on the vernal equinox. “It’s this great double entendre to put out a record on the day where day and night are of equal length but because of a solar eclipse, it changes day into night for a bit,” says Rodgers.

“It’s About Time,” originally conceived during the band’s peak period in the late 1970s, channels the vibe of Chic’s disco hits like “I Want Your Love” and “Everybody Dance.” Anchored by Rodgers’ “Hitmaker” guitar, the same instrument he has used for more than 35 years, the buoyant track nods to the dance floor, showing the pedigree that has influenced Mark Ronson, Bruno Mars, Pharrell Williams and countless others.

As mainstream pop music catches up with his influence, Rodgers himself feels that fans are ready for a Chic renaissance. “It felt like I had a chance for my band to be reborn and should just live one more time,” says Rodgers. “It’s like you broke open a time capsule and you have a record that never came out.”

[via RollingStone]

Iconic Film The Sound Of Music celebrates its 50th anniversary this month;10 things you didn’t know.

1. This month, the film of The Sound Of Music celebrates its 50th anniversary. Next year, it is to be remade for a new generation, with Jay-Z in the role of Baron von Trott, opposite Kim Kardashian as Maria.

2. In the classic 1965 version, the role of Baron von Trott was originally to be played by the tubby British actor Terry Scott, but at the last minute director Robert Wise decided he needed someone fitter and more manly.

‘As the filming date loomed, it had become increasingly clear that Terry would never have been able to climb even the smallest hill, let alone every mountain,’ he explained.

The Sound of Music, starring Julie Andrews, celebrates its 50th anniversary this month - with a 'remake' due next year-jide-salu.com

The Sound of Music, starring Julie Andrews, celebrates its 50th anniversary this month – with a ‘remake’ due next year

Scott was later to gain fame in the long-running TV series Terry And June. Coincidentally, he took on the role of the Mother Superior in the 1974 touring production of The Sound Of Music, opposite Hylda Baker as Maria and Arthur Mullard as Captain von Trapp.

3. Since 2011, the following health warning has preceded all public screenings of The Sound Of Music: ‘Patrons are advised that the medical advice given in this film is wrong. In the event of a dog bite or a bee sting, do not think of a few of your favourite things. Instead, you should consult a doctor or pharmacist at the earliest opportunity.’

4. During filming, Christopher Plummer, who played Captain von Trapp, complained of feeling queasy every single time the von Trapp children opened their mouths to sing. This made the shooting of the Do-Re-Me sequence particularly tricky. If you look carefully, you may be able to spot a discreet plastic bucket placed just to left of the Captain, partially concealed behind a vase of flowers.

5. The mountains seen in The Sound Of Music were, in fact, specially constructed out of balsa wood. The tallest mountain is actually just 6in high, while the shortest is 2in, but clever use of perspective by the cinematographer makes them look much bigger.

While shooting the scene in which she dances on the top of a mountain, Julie Andrews twice put her foot through the scale model. Her exclamations were considered unsuitable for family viewers, and were re-dubbed later.

6. The film was originally called The Sound Of Muesli with the von Trapps all working in their matching clothes mixing muesli for the family cereal business. But executives at Paramount feared that audiences would find the continual crunching of muesli a hopeless distraction, and called for a re-think.

After undergoing a number of re-writes, during which it was variously titled The Sound Of Mushrooms, The Sound Of Mallets and — relocated to a sun-soaked island — The Sound Of Mustique, screenwriter Ernest Lehman eventually came up with the idea of calling it The Sound Of Music.

7. In an early draft of the screenplay, the Nazi high command successfully halted the von Trapp family singing Edelweiss onstage and, to deafening applause, substituted The Swinging Blue Jeans rocking their way through the more up-to-date Hippy Hippy Shake, while the von Trapps looked sour-faced backstage.

It went down well with preview audiences, but shortly afterwards historians kicked up a fuss, and the producers reluctantly excised The Swinging Blue Jeans from the final cut.

8. Many of those involved in the original film went on to forge successful careers of their own. Following a petition against noise pollution signed by well over 10,000 locals, the lonely goat-herd was forced to give up yodelling in public and concentrate on his goat business.

His company, Goats International, is listed on the FTSE 500, and remains the biggest supplier of goats and goat-related products (gloves, jackets, horns) to the American military. But, sadly, he remains extremely lonely: he was engaged to be married on five separate occasions, but his brides-to-be all ran away the moment they heard him yodelling at the altar.

9. To this day, Julie Andrews insists on living by the rules set out in the song Do-Re-Mi. Thus, she never drinks a cup of tea without also consuming jam and bread, and whenever a Customs officer, tax inspector or policeman asks her what she calls herself, she always replies by singing the word ‘Me!’ Over the past half-century, this has resulted in several periods of incarceration for the plucky actress.

10. The show is touring America with the original cast. The script has been updated accordingly: Liesl von Trapp now sings ‘I am 66, going on 67’, and in the scene where the von Trapps sing Do-Re-Mi, the staircase has been fitted with a family-size Stannah stairlift.

[via Daily Mail]