Bye Bye Victoria Iretiola Olomodosi, An Esteemed Woman of Glory.

on

I am writing this post seated in the car with raw emotions about life in general. How fickle can life really get?

We sleep, and we expect it’s an automatic motion we are awoken from our slumber. Many don’t realise we go through a state of coma, a period in the day when even money has no influence. When we are asleep, it is not the alarm that jolts us back to consciousness. As a believer in Christ, it probably helps me to put forward the daily scenario that God Almighty whom many prefer to refer to as the ‘universe’ daily executes that activity of the heart beating.

What happens when God says time is up? What happens to the plans for the day? And the booked holidays?

My mother. My wife’s mother in actual fact. Everyone’s mother was called by God Almighty to be with him.

Her names Victoria Ireti Olomodosi, nee Esan, the matriarch of Femi Olomodosi clan, the wife to the famous clergy, the Right Reverend Adeneye Olufemi Olomodosi, first provost of Cathedral, Ake, Abeokuta, Ogun State in Nigeria, departed mother earth at around 11.30am yesterday, 4th May 2016.

Mummy (extremely difficult for me to speak about you in the past) was an extraordinary human being. Not only was she a devoted mother to all… and I mean all that got to know her, she was a stickler for family ties. It was her idea that initiated the big family forum that is currently active. It was her that regularly reminded us of family anniversaries and birthdays. She regularly sent out prayer points. She bought, in bundles, Pastor Adeboye’s devotional book ‘Open Heavens’ which she distributed as gifts. She wrote lengthy letters in long hand. She was technology savvy at her grand age. She was always elegantly dressed, prim and proper I will describe her. Her spoken English was devoid of modern day slangs. It was Queens English.

I remember with affection when I first started this blog, writing about my life as an expatriate relocated to Nigeria. She was an avid reader and supporter. She never missed a post. It thrilled me to see her give her approval.

I remember the moment when I first spoke with her over the phone. I hadn’t yet met her in person but was already in love with her just by listening to her.

ireti-olomodosi-jide-salu.com
Mrs Victoria Iretiola Olomodosi

She was firm, no doubt, but fair. Very fair. She was a woman full of wisdom. A lady who loved her family to her last breath. She was positive. She was strong.

I remember speaking with her about 2 weeks, thereabout, ago…I hailed her ‘my mama’, she responded ‘Babajide how are you’? She always called me by my full name, which was endearing.

My fond memories of her are what is keeping me strong, is what is keeping the family strong. Bet it, there were many tears. I held up well yesterday until the dam broke loose this morning. Who says grown up men shouldn’t cry?

I love her. Loved her so, so much. I am not sure she knew how much, though.

I had plans to do much more for her than she ever realised.

Anytime I spoke with her, I tried to communicate my action plans to her. With her soothing voice, her response always had a calming effect. She dotted over every little gift she received with so much gratitude. How special she always made you be.

Never did she not end a conversation with prayers.

I can still remember her laughter, and see her smile.

For those of you who still have loved ones, don’t leave it till tomorrow to show how much you love them.

I am so grateful Mummy received so much love from her children, grandchildren as well as her beautiful siblings and family members.

I take this opportunity to thank God Almighty for giving us the privilege to enjoy her company for these many years – 82 long years. We are not mourning her, but rejoicing for a life well spent. Oh yea, she definitely left her mark on every life that had the honour to interact with her.

Ireti grandma (IG) as she was fondly called by her grandchildren is smiling  down at this write-up right. I know she is. I can feel it.

Bye bye, Mummy.

Say hello to Dad who went ahead of you 27 years ago.
Miss you loads
Xxx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Trish says:

    So sorry to hear Jide. Hope your wife and family are bearing up? May God give comfort you and family. Your tribute is so beautiful. She’ll be so proud of you. May the kind soul of Ireti grandma rest in peace. Amen.

    Like

  2. Anu Adefeso says:

    Grandma Abeokuta is gone, we will miss her greatly. She is always full of smiles. I see her regularly at All Saints Church where her husband was a former Vicar in the 60’s. She will always ask after my wife and children.
    May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

    Like

  3. Andra Adebayo says:

    True words. I met her at a time.can’t even find the right words to express how wonderful mama was.A virtuous mother indeed. Rest in peace till we meet to part no more.

    Like

  4. May her soul rest in perfect peace and may the family and people she left behind receive grace and strength to cope in times like this. @ 82 she lived a full life though

    Like

    1. Jide Salu says:

      Thank you, Joshua. Yes, she had a great life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

