#EgyptAir|Flight MS804 Disappears From Radar Between Paris and Cairo.

on

#EgyptAir-jide-salu

  • Flight MS804, en route from Paris Charles de Gaulle to Cairo, has disappeared from radar.
  • EgyptAir says the plane’s emergency devices – possibly an emergency locator transmitter or beacon – sent a signal that was received at 4.26am local time, two hours after the last radar contact.
  • The plane, an Airbus A320, left Paris at 11.09pm on Wednesday night (21.09 GMT/22.09 BST/07.09am Thursday AEST).
  • The airline said contact was lost around 16km/10 miles inside Egyptian airspace at 2.30am local time (00.30 GMT/01.30 BST/10.30 AEST).
  • The plane was carrying 56 passengers and 10 crew: two cockpit crew, five cabin crew and three security personnel. The airline said two babies and one child were on board.
  • The airline said among the passengers were 30 Egyptians, 15 French, two Iraqis, and one each from the UK, Belgium, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Chad, Portugal, Algeria and Canada.
  • Search and rescue efforts are underway at the site where contact was lost, around 280km (175 miles) north of Egypt’s coast. Greece has joined the search and operation.
  • The plane, on its fifth journey of the day, was travelling at 37,000 feet when it disappeared from radar.
  • EgyptAir says the captain has 6,275 flying hours, including 2,101 on the A320; the copilot has 2,766. The plane was manufactured in 2003.
  • French prime minister Manuel Valls says “no theory can be ruled out” in investigating the disappearance.
  • There is no detail yet on possible reasons for the plane’s disappearance.
  • EgyptAir says that the plane’s emergency devices (possibly an emergency locator transmitter or beacon) sent a distress signal that was received at 4.26am, some two hours after the previously stated last radar contact.
  • French prime minister Manuel Valls says “no theory can be ruled out” in investigating the disappearance of MS804, which left Paris Charles de Gaulle airport late on Wednesday night.
  • Reports from Egypt suggest search and rescue efforts are focusing on the Mediterranean; Greece is also assisting in the search.
  •  Flightradar24 pinpoints the last recorded point of contact with the plane, which was travelling at just under 37,000 feet.

Latest Updates from Guardian

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s