Ballon d’Or award -Fifa ends association with world player of the year award.

Fifa has ended its association with the Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player.

The award has been given by France Football every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the Fifa Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s governing body.

The French magazine will continue to run the award and will announce more details on Tuesday, 20 September.

Ballon d'Or-jide-salu
Only European players were eligible for the original Ballon d’Or until 1995.

Fifa ran a separate World Player of the Year award from 1991 until 2009.

It is thought they will now relaunch their own trophy, with the details yet to be worked out.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi won four of the six Fifa Ballons d’Or, including the final one, with Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo winning the other two. 

The last year that neither of them won the Ballon d’Or or Fifa’s main award was 2007, when Kaka won both.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s