Why You Should Not Reject Discipline!

It says I should not reject the Lord’s discipline and I should not be angry when he corrects me. The creator’s manual goes on to say that the Lord will only discipline whom he loves, just as a father will correct and discipline his darling daughter or son whom he loves dearly.

This is how I ought to take correction and punishment from the Lord. Sins committed knowingly or unknowingly have repercussions even after they have been forgiven by Lord Jesus.

Therefore, it is inadvisable to reject discipline from the Lord.  I can reject the Lord’s discipline by staying away from anything that glorifies his name. I could decide to do the exact opposite of what the Lord demands. I may even act in arrogance, unbeknown to me because of what is already stored up in my heart. I could decide to take out my disappointment or disapproval on the innocent. There are many other ways I could reject the Lord.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to be focused on you without a second thought. Let it be second nature to me. Help me to recognise your actions in my life, and lead me in the ways that will please you in Jesus name.  Amen. I say the same prayers for you, my reader.  (Jide Salu)

proverbs-3-11-12-jide-salu-devotion

Proverbs 3:11-12Easy-to-Read Version (ERV)

11 My son, don’t reject the Lord’s discipline and don’t be angry when he corrects you. 12 The Lord corrects the one he loves, just as a father corrects a child he cares about.

Leave a Reply

