Chimamanda Adichie on Beyoncé: ‘Her type of feminism is not mine’.

NIGERIAN AUTHOR Chimamanda Adichie has spoken little about the impact of having superstar singer Beyoncé use a sample of her We should all be feminists TED Talk on her 2013 self-titled album.

In an interview with a Dutch newspaper this week, the acclaimed writer has not only distanced herself from Beyoncé’s brand of feminism but she has also admitted that she partly “resented” the attention she received following her brief feature on Flawless.

“I was shocked about how many requests for an interview I received when that song was released. Literally every major newspaper in the world wanted to speak with me about Beyoncé. I felt such a resentment,” Adichie said.

The Americanaah author told de Volkskrant how her resentment came from the expectation that she should have been grateful for the singer’s endorsement.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

She said: “I found that disappointing. I thought, ‘I am a writer and I have been for some time and I refuse to perform in this charade that is now apparently expected of me: Thanks to Beyoncé, my life will never be the same again.’ That’s why it didn’t speak about it much.’”

While the accomplished writer shared her admiration for Beyoncé, she was openly critical of the differences in their feminist beliefs and concluded that the two do not share the same principles.

Adichie said: “Her type of feminism is not mine, as it is the kind that, at the same time, gives quite a lot of space to the necessity of men. I think men are lovely, but I don’t think that women should relate everything they do to men: did he hurt me, do I forgive him, did he put a ring on my finger?”

The writer, who recently surprised fans with the news that she gave birth to a daughter, added: “We women are so conditioned to relate everything to men. Put a group of women together and the conversation will eventually be about men. Put a group of men together and they will not talk about women at all, they will just talk about their own stuff. We women should spend about 20 per cent of our time on men, because it’s fun, but otherwise we should also be talking about our own stuff.”

Americanah won the National Book Critic award for fiction in 2013, and Oscar-winning actress Lupita Nyong’o has shown interest should it turn into a film.

Voice
Leave a Reply

