Chelsea Lagos Dry Chill……..

 

The Drink of Chelsea Fans
The Drink of Chelsea Fans

At the end of the battle of the Premiership clubs in the Champions League game yesterday between Liverpool football club and London’s Chelsea watched by millions all over the world including the additional millions of devoted Nigerian football fans, somewhere in the suburbs of Lagos, Mafoluku in Oshodi, the excited Chelsea fans who witnessed their team defeat Liverpool 3-1 were all drenched in a special brew of gin.

Introduced to Nigerians in 1987 by the Nigerian manufacturers, Intercontinental Distillers Limited, it is said to be a very popular drink used in celebrating victories.

I must confess, I had never heard of Chelsea London Dry Gin before now. I had heard of Schnapps and ‘Ogogoro’ a rather strong un-distilled Nigerian dry gin that has a reputation to set alight anything flammable. I doubt if I would ever be able to tell you what it tastes like, because, firstly, I am not a Chelsea supporter and secondly, in Nigeria, the fan base of Chelsea football club comprise mainly ‘area boys’ – touts, thanks to the manufacturers of Chelsea London Dry Gin. I am definitely not an area boy.

So Chelsea fans in Nigeria, as you could imagine, every weekend, douse in dry gin, come victory or defeat.

 

Illegal China Town…

Still on area boys…I was told the story of our Chinese friends resident in Nigeria who sought help from some Chelsea fans (sorry guys) , by now you know who I meant, some area boys of course.

Why?

The part of Lagos where they had converged and turned into an illegal China town selling all sorts had come to the attention of Lagos State Governor Fashola, and it was decided the place had to be demolished.

What did the Chinese do in defence?

They chose to employ ‘area boys’ that would defend them in this conflict with the government. So picture this, the axe wielding Nigerian touts ‘anointed’ in Chelsea London dry gin with Bruce lee look alike Chinese in the background all dressed up in Kong fu outfits brandishing chop sticks in a riot with the Police force.

Nollywood? It will not be farfetched. This is Nigeria, where even the Chinese knew that nothing is impossible. I don’t know how it ended, but I know that Governor Fashola gets what he wants. Could anyone ever imagine Oshodi bus stop traders would ever be cleared off the railway tracks? Considering this location had embedded its culture and reputation of a dingy area in the subconscious of all Lagosians. Oshodi was cleared and suddenly became a new area overnight. This action Governor in replying to visiting market traders who threatened not to vote for him come 2011, told them that “a good student does not repeat class and that it would be them, the voters, who would come looking for him to contest come 2011”. Wise words from a wise and courageous leader.

 

Now that says a lot about the man who coined the phrase “Eko o ni baje o” – meaning “Lagos will not be destroyed”

 

“Comportments ?”

“Comportments ?” I asked him again for clarification. It was until he said “roughness too much”, was how I was able to figure out what he meant.

He meant to say it was not comfortable. In his words “comfortess” which sounded like “comportment” to me.

The ‘okada’ rider in describing the hazards that go side by side with his profession when I asked him if he enjoyed doing what he was engaged in came out with the word “comfortness”.

He meant there was no comfort in the ‘Okada’ vocation; however he had no choice as there was no other source of livelihood. My short ‘okada’ ride, to the end of the road, which would have cost me 30 minutes of my time cost my pocket N50. I gave him N100, an extra N50 for the few words he shared with me, educating me a bit on the lifestyle of an ‘okada’ rider and for the safe ride.

Oh, before I forgot, it was my fifth ride and I always forewarn the ‘Okada’ rider on each occasion that it was my first ride and he ought to be very careful.

On the fifth ride this morning, the motorcyclist was taken aback.

“First time?” screamed the motorcyclist early this morning! “u mean say u never ride machine b4?” he asked, to which I replied, certainly ” i never ride this machine b4″.

Now I know the mentality!

If these uncharacteristic professionals see their tool of vocation as a machine, it explains the aura of invisibility they protrude to the world.

I now see! Hmmmnnnn

 

having fun
having fun

 

 

Yesterday I promised to share with you my evening stroll to my local beach. Well, all I wanted to say or write is that I went with the boys (Prof. and Gov.) last Sunday and it struck me once again how blessed this nation truly is.

An unadulterated gift from God Almighty. A place the western world would kill for. Even Dubai with all its beauty had to make do with an artificial one.

There we were a 10 minute walk to the beach surrounded not by one single 5 star hotel. I really do not know how Florida or the Brazilian beaches differ from Alpha Beach!

You all know that what you do not have to sweat for, most times, you take it for granted. I think that is the case of Africa in general and Nigeria in particular. So that’s it really. It was a good evening. A very good evening indeed. I appreciated once again the God I serve for creating me a Nigerian.

 

Re, yesterday’s entry. I got back very good comments. I always appreciate all your comments really. I make an effort to reply, and it is just not a general reply. It is always a personal reply if you had noticed.

“You see, I am talking to you right now” as I tap away on the keyboard. You are reading this word this second, and the sound behind the voice is not yours, is it?

No, it is not!

It’s mine.

So when you take your time to write me a word or two of what you really think about what I have just said to you, then you will be talking back to me.

Your comments talk back to me.

Whilst I know some of you, like Bayo Dossy, Kola, KTttt, Snatch, Mayowa, Iyowu, Bobby, Ola, Toyin, Kanmi, etc

Bumight, Afrobabe, Gerard, NaijaDude, Doja, LG, Temite, Rita, Nimmo, Blogoratti, Writefreak, Buttercup, LuciousRon, Fantasy Queen, O’dee, JustDB, Lolia, Secret Diary,Jaycee, Solomosydelle, qmoney, Peter, and I can go on and on and on, I do not know.

The point I am trying to make is this. Talent, is normally, not recognised and appreciated by the people you know.

I listed 10 people I know that have read and left comments as compared with 20 people I have never met in my life.

When complete strangers, in this case, now ‘cyber friends’, take their precious time to drop a line or two, what more can I say and do, but to appreciate.

I appreciate you all.

Could I encourage you to also tick the box  Notify me of follow-up comments via email.
This will notify you immediately upon my reply to your comment.

 

HAPPY EASTER
HAPPY EASTER

 

 

In the spirit of Easter, I wish you a Happy Easter.

Wifey’s mum celebrated her 75th a couple of weeks ago. My mum will be celebrating her 70th tomorrow.

Mum, I love you and Happy Birthday.

 

God Bless you for reading

God Bless Africa

God Bless Nigeria

 

 

Tomorrow is Friday and is ‘On a lighter note’. Part 2 of Kola’s ‘frapas’ is on. You can’t afford to miss it. Yes, I know I promised Toyin’s conclusion. Sorry, that will now be on Monday…..

.

Publicity by http://alphainventions.com

Trumpet Newspaper

 

 

 


13 Comments

  1. you can always count on 5 star hotels when you want maximum comfort and a lot of souvenirs ,“

    Like

  2. Doja says:

    Happy Birthday to mum!!!!!!!!!!

    I am also learning that when you want to venture into something new and great, don’t rely on the people you know. I can relate to what you wrote with regards to this because I experienced it.
    Leave that behind you, now that you know and make sure it is a lesson that you always remember. It is sad but true.

    I love reading your blog because it is so real. Well done and more grace!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Bwari Boy says:

    Like the whole news template thing. Its like breaking news. JideSalu Breaking News! Nice blog.

    Like

  4. Tears says:

    love your top news!!!

    Like

  5. bumight says:

    i dont know any blogville chelsea fans, but i know DB is a loserpool fan, lol.

    chinese people are very industrial and smart. they always have to have a chinatown in every country or major city . i knew it was just a matter of time before naija had her very own chinatown!

    and in ur beach picture, i think my husband is on the right *bumight faints out of love* lol

    happy easter! and happy birthday to your mum!

    Like

  6. tunde iyowu says:

    jide, do pass on my birthday greetings to both you mum(in advance) and your mother-in-law. may they both live long in good health and happiness.
    happy easter holidays to you and the clan.
    as always, its a joy to read your thoughts…you and castro are truly talented.
    for all the liverpool fans who are tuned in..(you know yourselves..i wont mention any names o castro), better luck next season.
    for all you chelsea fans…it was a good game, go easy on the schnapps and ogogoro.
    jide, looking forward to no 10 of toyin’s shockers o!!!

    Like

  7. Naijadude says:

    Everyday staple as usual… been too busy to leave a comment, but I always peep in to take a breather… yeah I sometimes leave the page open all day , it can take me all day to finish a post!!

    Happy Easter to you Onkle…

    I am an offended Chelsea fan… fyi.. hehe

    Like

  8. Afrobabe says:

    Happy easter and take the kids somewhere nice..

    This our area boys have no sense of patroitism oh haba…
    Hope you have no chelsea fans as readers cos they will get you for this…lmao

    Like

    1. babajidesalu says:

      Afrobaby,

      Oh yes, I will be having fun with the family. Definitely!

      As for the area boys, what can I say? That is as far as they have allowed common sense to guide them.

      Afrobabe, can you imagine the indulgence in dry gin named Chelsea?

      I am very sure my friends who support Chelsea ought to know I will say it as I see it.

      I stand to declare that not all Chelsea fans are touts!

      Have a FANTASTIC EASTER BREAK.

      taKia and God bless you

      Like

  9. Gerard says:

    What can I say Jide. You are like the piped piper that no matter where I stray you tune is for ever sounding in me. Your writing is inspiring and humurous. If I was a supersticious person I would have started to think na “jazz,dibia or juju” you use to retain my attention….lol. Have a nice easter and regards to your wife and kids and wishing your mother a fantastic 76th birthday.

    God bless 🙂

    Like

    1. babajidesalu says:

      My dear broda, as my people will say…I am so glad to be able to connect with the likes of you. I can tell you now, that throwing humility out of the window, all praises must go to one spirit, and that is the Almighty Holy Spirit. That’s who!

      Thank you for all your time put together, no doubt, we would connect for real one day.

      Warmest regards to your dear family.

      God bless you Gerard.

      Like

  10. Blogoratti says:

    Funny and interesting read.
    You are doing a good job with the sharing of information-thanks for the appreciation too!
    Lovely Easter celebrations.

    Like

    1. babajidesalu says:

      Thanks for been the first to wish me a lovely Easter celebrations. I hope you clicked the notify me of comments via email box so as to prove that I do reply as soon as I am able to.

      Blogoratti, thanks once again for precious time. Much appreciated. I am already in the Easter mood listening to some gospel music in the background via the AOL Music Player.

      Have a restful Easter break okay and God bless you real good.

      Like

Leave a Comment