A game called living in Nigeria…..

It was Florence Shinn who said that “The game of life is the game of boomerangs. Our thoughts, deeds and words return to us sooner or later, with astounding accuracy”.

I just cannot help repeat saying that “it is the real life that I have come to live in Nigeria”. Honestly.

There was just something artificial, something too straight, something….., I just cannot seem to place my hands on that makes living in the United Kingdom unreal.

It could be the fact that everything, well, when I say everything, I mean the basic necessity a human being requires to ease the effort to live is readily available without blinking an eye. Is it electricity or water (be it good or bad, that is water required to flush and drinking water) that are all available? Talk of good roads and shops at every corner, just to make life comfortable and relatively easi-er. That must be it. There is comfort in the mist of its peculiar stress, because whilst all these amenities are available, you pay through your nose to enjoy them. Don’t you guys? Come on, I am asking you a question?

That is where those on the queue at the British or American or Vietnam embassies do not need convincing. They just do not want to hear. They want out. They have had enough. God, definitely did not create them to live a life of misery of this magnitude they seemed to have agreed in unison.

And when you look closely at their grievances, they do have a point you know. The point however, is this. No amount of running as far away from Nigeria will mitigate you from challenges. I will not even bug you with the challenges of the U.K or U.S. Having said that, the level of the challenges in Nigeria, is …..how can I put it o…..on another LEVEL!!!

You see, let me take you on a peep of living in 9ja, or Naija as this generation has come to describe it. But before I do, I have often wondered how Nigerians see and view Nigeria.

How would we describe Nigeria to a foreigner? How would you sell Nigeria to someone who is considering visiting for the first?

These are the real tests, because if we keep bad mouthing the place you call home, how on earth would it be a tolerable place to habit?

How on earth do you think it’s possible to co-habit with a wife or husband you keep on “badmouthing” to your friends? My friend, it is simply not possible, unless you want to die early, hence I guess, the long queues at the foreign embassies.

Life in Nigeria can be very tough for the ordinary man on the street. We often say, without thinking about the repercussion of the statement that Nigerians are very resilient. But to what extent? We just cannot be pushed against the wall? Do you know why? It is for the simple reason that we would break the wall and extend our space, hence the tolerance for rubbish in the country. When we ought to react, we do not. We justify every unimaginable senseless act to the will of God.

We have been without a sitting President for 61 days today and life goes on. No big deal. So, my question is this – what do we actually need a President for if the country can survive without one for this length of time?

We have been without fuel for over two months, and so what? We have all gotten used to it. I now send my meguard (gate man) – Musa – to the petrol station with N2, 500 to queue to buy a 25 litre gallon that would have cost me N1, 750 some weeks back. That is the solution to spending my precious hours on the queue. Believe me If I tell you that cars can be on the queue for up to 5 hours. Why should I spend that long on a queue?

The black market is booming in the open. Boys that are otherwise jobless connive with petrol attendants to fill up bottles, kegs, whatever with fuel to hawk right in front of the petrol stations for sale to motorists like myself who could not be bothered to spend time on the queue. However, the problem with this black market fuel is that it is usually mixed with water or some other artificial liquid, which can pose problems to vehicles. It is such a dilemma. I give Musa, enough to meander his way to buy me 25 litres and not enough to buy from the black market. Can you believe that I now lay my hands on the car offering special prayers on it. This is what it now takes. To add to all the fuel palaver, I still need fuel to generate electricity through our generators. But guess what? We are now used to it, I mean the scarcity.

Graduates now apply for driver roles or loiter the streets with C.Vs in hand visiting one office to another, unsolicited, mind you. To be gainfully employed, you must really know someone on the inside and for those who are employed, they dare not step out of favour with the boss.

Transportation is an issue. Another major challenge. Workers leave home as early as 4.30am to get onto commercial buses to work. That is to work. Leaving work for home is another nightmare journey. I observe these helpless citizens of this rich but bitter nation waiting endless hours for the few buses who have now doubled travel fares due to fuel scarcity. It goes on and on.

Food – another major challenge. The increase in food stuff is down to the fuel scarcity and the religious up rise in Jos, Plateau state – a state that feeds the nation. Emergency road side caterers that cook, sell and accommodate customers that eat beside gutters hewed with rubbish. To say it is unhygienic would be putting it mildly. But hey, as many there are fast food joints opening up, that is how unaffordable they are to the average man on the street. It is unimaginable for a graduate on a salary of N30k per inconsistent month to spend N1k on a meal. That will be a damnation on his conscience. So they have to make do with the “gutter” caterers. Another situation where the nostrils has gotten accustomed to the stench oozing from the gutter.

I can go on and on, but I shall stop here for now.

My point, as tough as it may be, one is still living. Count yourself one of the privileged and endeavour to assist whoever at any given opportunity. Watch carefully what you mutter to yourself, for without realising it, you are living it. It is too late to give up because you are still alive unless you want to terminate your life.

Someone once said, “Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore. “ Forget yesterday, for it is long gone. If the memories are bad, use it as leverage to get to heights that will produce for you good experiences in future. Once you are alive, you have a duty to yourself to live it. How you go about that is a matter only you have to decide. Your choice.

You know I will tell it as it is. This is how it is today. Tomorrow I do not know of.

Before I go, let me direct you to a close friend’s blog. His name is Dr Tola Sobande and believe me you would soon hear a lot more being said about this very passionate Nigerian who has on several occasions for the past few years, visited Nigeria with free Diabetic kits for members of the public.  Talk about doing your bit. So when he talks and writes, it is not theory. This is a guy talking the talk and walking the walk. Introducing you to Tola 101.

God bless you for stopping by.

4 Comments

  1. Jide says:

    Mr Returnee, i have been following your articles lately, it shows you are living from hand to mouth. You write desperately, so anxious to express your frustration in your motherland. If you are not comfortable living in Nigeria then get your silly arse back to UK where you have spent the good part of your life as you narrated in one of your articles. We are tired of your numerous analysis of Nigeria and her problems please write more on the solution. Forward Naija backward JSD.

    Jide
    Sagamu

    Like

    1. NoLimit says:

      Mr Man…you are way out of line and I just need to point that out to you…
      This is HIS BLOG…and he can darn well write whatever he chooses and decides to write about…Seeing that it’s a free world and you’re entitled to your opinion, I guess you are entitled to your wrong opinion too.
      And I don’t think being insultive is a brilliant idea.UP NIGERIA UP JSD…Period!!!

      Well I replied cos I believe:”All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” – Edmund Burke… and in this case what you have said is evil…you’re casting a vile aspersion on this good man’s character and you’re not allowed to do that.
      You either shape up or you ship out…with all due respect.

      Like

  2. Gerard Onochie says:

    Nice article. Jide you have this wonderful skill of getting to the point and making me visualise the scenarios you talk about. I wonder if your blog should not be posted on billboard around Nigeria. I have never met anyone else apart from my mother that can uplift one’s soul with the way you write. Have a nice day. 🙂

    Like

  3. NoLimit says:

    This is making me emotional…I feel drained…different countries,different challenges…but the end is…We Win!!!

    Like

Leave a Comment